Receiving Jesus, Again

Jesus in My Eye and I in His Eye

Yesterday, my wife and I both went to the Sacrament of Reconciliation in anticipation of receiving, once again, the Lord in the Holy Eucharist.

Today was our first day back to the Holy Sacrifice of the Mass since the middle of March. Nave seating was limited to 50% capacity, and all were required to wear masks. Every other pew was cordoned off and tape was carefully laid on the floor to help us keep 6 feet apart as we processed up to receive the Lord in the Blessed Sacrament of the Altar.

I was a little confused during Holy Communion. I was wearing a mask and trying to obey the instructions to let the mask dangle by one ear as I went forward to receive either in the hand or on the tongue. Why do I have to make this decision? My mind said, “I better receive in the altar of my hand” but then my body did the opposite and I received on the tongue. Grabbing the dangling loop of my mask, I reattached it and went back to the pew to pray and contemplate.

As I knelt, I started to see only Jesus behind the Altar wearing golden liturgical attire unlike that of the priests. He was looking at me with admiring or loving eyes, and I felt sort of bashful; my heart sort of burned in a delightful way. This happened three times. His hair was golden brown, perhaps from the sunlight from above, and His eyes seemed translucent – like honey with blue tones.

What does all of this mean? One day we will know. Something more wonderful than we know will happen on that Day when time is no longer relevant, and reveling in the heavenly experiences of the present will be all that matters.

Leave a comment