To Learn Humility = To Change Perspectives

Learn of me. I am meek and humble of heart.

Learn of me. I am meek and humble of heart.

It is sometimes easy for me to lose composure when I allow pride to govern my reactions.  For example, there are times when I present something that I believe is valuable and represents my personal contribution, and therefore, self-worth, but the one receiving it disrespects it, and I get angry and want to come back with an arrogant response.

This has happened to me on a few occasions recently where I work.  By the Grace of God, I believe that my responses have been somewhat muted and controlled, not meting out all that my emotions demand.  I am grateful to God for this.

Interestingly, Grace also allows me to see beyond my pride, and to grasp the idea that I really can do better with what I presented…as if, after the fact, if I choose to moderate my emotions and listen, I am allowed to see as if the dark pride-encrusted lens through which I had been looking had suddenly been wiped clean.

I was praying about pride and humility this morning, and what causes my pride:

Pride is allowed to rule my actions when i measure my self-worth by my own, worldly standard.  “What I have presented is very good because I am smart, and I like it.”

In contrast…

Humility is allowed to rule our actions when we measure our self-worth by God’s holy Providence and Standard.  “I believe that I am here and have a job by the Grace of God.  What I have presented is good only if it satisfies God’s purpose for my being here.  If it does not, He will let me know through the one receiving it, and I will comply.”

So if my boss does not like something, my response should be one of humble happiness in having the opportunity to make it even better.

I desire to be a most humble servant for God, for the benefit of others with whom I come in contact.  I pray that the Lord God will help me.  So be it.  Amen.

image

7 responses to “To Learn Humility = To Change Perspectives

  1. I am going to come back and re-read this, when I have more time. I want to soak this in, as it reminded me of something. Great post and God Bless, SR

  2. “What I have presented is good only if it satisfies God’s purpose for my being here. If it does not He will let me know through the one receiving it, and I will comply.”

    This to me is the best “rule” I have ever read to live by. Now my question is… What do we do, if the person/persons do not let us “make it better.” By that I mean, if they continue to hold a grudge, get angry and stay angry, etc… What do we do then, Francis? Thanks for answer. God Bless, SR

    • “What do we do, if the person/persons do not let us ‘make it better.’By that I mean, if they continue to hold a grudge, get angry and stay angry, etc…”

      Dear SR, if they are acting that way, we should begin with prayers for help to understand how to deal with the situation.

      It could be that we were irresponsible in our own actions (and we did harm, and this invoked the anger) and should apologize to them and ask for their forgiveness and a chance to correct the situation. The apology can be like a soothing salve.

      It could also be that we simply did not communicate well, and this should be met with a private meeting to discuss what went wrong, what the perceptions are vs. the realities, the good will involved, and so on. If hearts are good, this should resolve the issue.

      We could find that we are just not qualified to do the task, and should admit this and ask for help or suggest the task be handed to someone else…but only if we do not have the potential to succeed at the task.

      Else, we pray even more for them and ourselves, offer a daily Mass for them, pray for God’s help for ourselves to understand how to address the situation, and so on.

      Then, if it is clear that the person is being unjust toward you, the best Scriptural advice is from the Gospel according to St. Matthew which quotes the Lord, Jesus Christ:

      15 “If your brother sins against you, go and tell him his fault, between you and him alone. If he listens to you, you have gained your brother.
      16 But if he does not listen, take one or two others along with you, that every word may be confirmed by the evidence of two or three witnesses.
      17 If he refuses to listen to them, tell it to the church; and if he refuses to listen even to the church, let him be to you as a Gentile and a tax collector.”

      The above guidance shows that we need to seek and keep courage and we need to have friends at work, people of like mind and heart in Christ, in whom we can trust to support us in doing good works. Friends like these are signs of God’s support and purpose.

      If this does not work, and we are without support, then it would be good to find another job (as per Matt 18:17 above).

      • Thanks so much Francis, for all the wisdom here. It ALWAYS begins with us looking at ourselves first, prayers, and our own humility, doesn’t it? When I think about it Francis, most of the time in my life, these three things worked. I do agree though with all you said, when they “do not.” Sometimes, as far as myself, I do not think I give God enough time to help me work out these things with others either. I do no know how God could create such an “impatient child,” when He Himself, is nothing but “patience.” I thank Him from the bottom of my heart for being so. Thanks again dear friend. I count on your wisdom a lot in my life. God Bless, SR

  3. Francis Philip – yes humility, I struggle with it. When I first started praying the Litany of Humility, I actually felt like I couldn’t breathe. So big was my pride, and that was even after I had a major transformation. I still don’t like the prayer, though I say it often, and it gets easier. I also say this one; To love and be rejected;
    To spend every effort to help and be turned down;
    To be in a situation of having to compete to be heard and be silent;
    To have answers and not be able to convey them;
    To lose, knowing you can win, rather than be political;
    To go to the end of the line when you were first;
    To tell the truth and it be made a lie;
    To try to be saintly and be made out to be a devil;
    To be on the inside and to be cast outside;
    To be with many and know you are really alone;
    To give yourself unreservedly to others and be a victim of their envy;
    To dedicate your life to a purpose and that purpose turn against you;
    To be innocent and be accused;
    To be stripped of all authority, earthly power, and position and be nothing;
    is to have one’s heart lacerated with humility to the greatest depth and receive the greatest heights of God’s blessing of…Walking Jesus’ Path;
    To Love
    (-FOM)
    In the meantime I realized the Litany of Humility is only asking to be free from fear and desire. We should fear nothing except to have fear of the Lord, and we should desire only the Lord. Once I realized that, it was easier to let Him strip down my ego, a grace really.

    • I agree, and when I began your litany, I realized that I feel what you feel. We are very close, you and I; very close and perhaps on a similar path. Thank you for reading and commenting. Do come back. 😊

  4. Lord have mercy on us. I have the Litany of Humility posted on beside my keyboard at work. It’s so easy to get distracted and forget about it. Thus, Lord have mercy on us. Blessings.

Leave a Reply

