In the Eucharist, Jesus said, “Know Me”

  As I was kneeling this morning before the Altar and Tabernacle of the Lord, before Holy Mass started, I was considering all of my sinfulness and giving thanks to the One God Who is in the Persons of the Trinity – Father, Son and Holy Spirit,  and also to Mother Mary, for everything They have done for me, for us, in spite of our consistent failures daily.  

I considered just how unworthy we are to be in His Presence, yet He comes to us, and calls us to Himself and gives Himself to us so that we might also have His Life, be healed, and live with Him forever.  

I prayed, “Make me obedient.  If only I could see what the Father is doing so that I might imitate Him constantly.  Let me stand by His side that I might just do as He does, and nothing more and nothing less, and please Him as He deserves.”

And then I remembered that Jesus said, 

Amen, amen, I say to you, a son cannot do anything on his own, but only what he sees his father doing; for what he does, his son will do also.  For the Father loves his Son and shows him everything that he himself does, and he will show him greater works than these, so that you may be amazed.” [john 5:19-20, NAB]

The Holy Spirit must have been helping me to pray this way since my prayer reflected what Jesus teaches.  This comforted me.

And, walking up to receive the Lord in the Eucharist, when I was within one person of receiving and before I bowed, I heard Him say, 

Know Me

This was an inaudible, calm speaking.  This made me very happy and I think I almost hit the priest moving forward to receive The Lord.  I know I could not hold back my smile.  It must have appeared awkward.  But this is what happened.

What a wonderful gift, to know the Lord because He desires it in His love for us.

6 responses to “In the Eucharist, Jesus said, “Know Me”

  1. Beautiful, Francis. This post took me back to the time in Mass where the Lord spoke to me, “Taste Me.” I have never forgotten that. So I can relate to how much “know Me” meant to you. Great post and God Bless, SR

    • Well, that certainly makes sense, SR. “Taste and see the goodness of the Lord” was also the antiphon for the Psalms today, and your experience is totally in line with that. Peace to you. 😀

  2. Yes, and that is exactly where I went when the Lord spoke that to me. Francis, I have thought about this post today and I want to ask you something. What do you think the Lord meant when He told you, “Know Me?” Do you think you are lacking in something there or what? I remember thinking when it happened to me, “Do I not know the “goodness” of Christ?” I felt like I was lacking in that. You do not have to tell me if you do not want to as I know it was very personal for me at the time. I am just curious to know where your thoughts went about yourself when this happened. God Bless, SR

    • SR, I also hear “Serve” often. I think that “know me” is a door opening to greater depths of intimacy and “serve” is a calling to greater depths of service. I do not serve as much as I have in the past. Perhaps I need to increase the level.

  3. “A door opening to the greater depths.” That I can understand. I can even understand it better when applied to myself and what happened to me. I think sometimes we get “stuck” (for lack of a better term) where we are at. I also believe this is due to maybe things in our daily lives, others who need us etc… In doing so we do not realize we are “stuck” and cease to strive for growth in these matters. I think it could be Jesus reminding us there are areas in our lives we need to grow and have more “depth” in when it comes to Him and our knowledge of Who He truly is, and what He wants us to do. Does this make any sense to you, as I feel like I am rambling. Maybe you can read between what I am writing and get to what I am trying to say. Thanks so much! God Bless, SR

Leave a Reply

