Call to Holy Confession

 

Roses in your Heart

 
I was struggling to pray the Rosary this morning.  I just stopped and looked at Mother Mary in my mind, and she looked at me and said to pray to her Son, Jesus instead.  And then that is what I did, even with words which came to me such as, “Jesus, I am sorry that I have offended you” and more prayers of praise and jubilation.

We had a conversation in my heart.  The most important thing He said to me was – and this is for you, too –

“Come before Me with roses in your heart.”

I could smell the fragrance of roses at that time, and I smell the fragrance even now as I write – a spiritual sensing of the odor of sweetness of a rose.

I think this means that we should confess our sins, often even, so that when we speak with Jesus – when we approach Him at the altar, we are pleasant to Him Who gives us His Very Life in His Precious Body, Blood, Soul and Divinity at every Holy Sacrifice of the Mass.  This is a mystery.

But I do know He is present with me, as is Mother Mary.  How this can be is a mystery.

4 responses to “Call to Holy Confession

  1. Beautiful! Thanks for sharing. God Bless, SR

  2. I’ve tried to be faithful praying the rosary, but many days it can be hard to focus with my mind on so many things. Yesterday my wife and I came to the hospital to have our third child, and after some difficulties it was decided she would need a c section. I could be with her during surgery, but had to wait while she was being prepped. In a room by myself, nervously waiting, I would have been perhaps more nervous coming up with prayers to pray. But I pulled out my rosary and as I prayed those prayers that have carried men into battle, I began to feel peace and by the time I was done I had the confidence I needed to be there for my wife when she needed me. So I got to experience one of those times when the rosary is just the thing a person needs. What a blessing. Speaking of blessings, our baby daughter is healthy. God is so good.

    Keep praying the rosary. Someday you might need it to be instinctive. Even though I know the prayers by heart, I was stressed enough to need to focus on them which was perfect.

    -Ben

    • Francis Philip

      That is wonderful Ben. Thank you for sharing, and congratulations to you and your wife on your new, healthy baby daughter. 🙂

Leave a Reply

