Do You Reject the Novus Ordo Missae? Really? Warning follows…

The Great Pope, the Saint, celebrates the Novus Ordo Missae, not in his own language, but in that language which the Lay Faithful understand.  He is the Good Steward.

The Great Pope, the Saint, celebrates the Novus Ordo Missae, not in his own language, but in that language which the Lay Faithful understand. He is the Good Steward of God’s Gift of Mercy.

Forty years I endured that generation.  I said, “They are a people whose hearts go astray and they do not know my ways.”  So I swore in my anger, “They shall not enter into my rest.”  [Psalm 95:10-11, NAB]

It is not the Novus Ordo Missae that is the problem. But, it is the rebellious, contentious, vain, selfish, self-righteous or proud mind of some that is the problem. When God opens the liturgy that it can be understood well by all, including the “common priesthood” of the faithful, but then both priest and lay reject it, then their gift may soon be removed, not externally, but internally from their souls so that these may not be fulfilled in the Novus Ordo Missae. And such it has been; and such it will be unless these have a change of heart. God is not a fool. One should not reject His Mercy. And the Stewards must not abuse or set aside His Gift!

Oh, that today you would hear his voice: Do not harden your hearts as at Meribah, as on the day of Massah in the desert.  There your ancestors tested me; they tried me though they had seen my works. Forty years I loathed that generation; I said: “This people’s heart goes astray; they do not know my ways.” Therefore I swore in my anger: “They shall never enter my rest.”

~ Psalm 95:7-11, New American Bible

9 responses to “Do You Reject the Novus Ordo Missae? Really? Warning follows…

  1. Good analogy, and amen.

  2. Dear Theo-Logis,
    There is a lot of anger in this posting. You are so angry that you pulled a verse from the Bible out of context to lambaste the trads. More analogous verses can be found in the NT where Jesus accuses the Jewish leaders of caring more about their rituals than the commandments.

    Nobody has more of a chip on their shoulder about traditionalism than me, but I have come to believe there is room within the Catholic Church for those who are traditionalists and those who are progressives. I am thankful that the Church is flexible enough to allow the TLM and the NO. I was beside myself when B16 issued SP in 2007, but now I understand that there will always be those people whose security is wrapped up in those ancient traditions.

    There will always be those trads who reject Vatican II and believe that every Pope since P12 (maybe P10) are sedevacantists and the current church doctrine is filled with modernist heresies, but there is room in my Church for them. I know they will never accept me, but I accept them. We can give them a portion of our Church because there is enough room for everybody.

    God bless,

    • No anger. But peace in the knowledge that this is God’s work in me. Amen.

      • Dear Francis Philip,
        Let me repeat your position so that I can be certain I fully understand. God’s work, in you, is to strike out with accusations toward members of Catholic Church and you are at peace knowing this is what you are doing.

        • No. I think that you see through a dim lens. I’m sorry that you can not see.

        • neodecaussade

          Dear Francis Philip,
          Alright, I get it. I am a big boy and you can call me dim if you wish. Putting me down will not change the fact that your ideology has blinded you to the message of the Gospels. I know because I am just like you. It has taken years for me to be able to set my ideology aside. Take your time and I will pray for you.

        • Dear Neodecaussade, you are not dim, but you may have a “dim lens.” I do not think that you are personally dim. No way. 🙂

  3. Dear Neodecaussade, God calls his children to obedience and gives them a gift which He only gives because it is necessary. Therefore, it should not be rejected. But some do reject His gift, just like some of the Jews did after leaving Egypt. The Psalm expresses the situation as does the Book of Numbers. So, you see in the Psalm the expression, “Therefore I swore in my anger” and you think that I express what God does not authorize, through His own inspiration, to express? Do you see? Do you take offense to what I have written but not to what God has written through His authors in the Scriptures?

Leave a Reply

