When Your Inner Voice Says: “Marry me.”

Church Adorned as a Bride

The Church as the Lord Sees Her Soul, When She Prays in Truth

When you are praying in truth – with true affection in your heart for the Lord – and you hear “Marry me,”  what do you say?  How do you respond?  What happens in your mind and soul?

In my soul, in the hearing of the words, it is like water entering a parched leaf, softening and rejuvenating my soul.  But I question it:

“Who?  Me?  Of course!  What?  Marry You?  How?  How can this be?  When?  Yes.  I believe what is impossible for me to understand from a human perspective.  I will, but…”

And then I yearn to hear the words again, and often, subtly I do, but only when my prayer is in truth, and when my prayer is in truth, it is because I am already being acted upon by a soothing Presence in my soul, that Presence, the Holy Spirit in whom my soul rejoices.

We ask ourselves, “What will life be like after I die on earth?  Where am I going?  What will I do?”

We don’t know all of the details, but we do know how much our Creator loves us and desires us:

For your husband is your Maker;
the LORD of hosts is his name,
Your redeemer, the Holy One of Israel,
called God of all the earth.

The LORD calls you back,
like a wife forsaken and grieved in spirit,
A wife married in youth and then cast off,
says your God.

For a brief moment I abandoned you,
but with great tenderness I will take you back.

In an outburst of wrath, for a moment
I hid my face from you;
But with enduring love I take pity on you,
says the LORD, your redeemer.

~ Book of the Prophet Isaiah, 54:5-8, New American Bible

And St. John the Baptist confirms the intent of God for His people:

He who has the bride is the bridegroom; the friend of the bridegroom, who stands and hears him, rejoices greatly at the bridegroom’s voice; therefore this joy of mine is now full.

~ Gospel of John 3:29, RSV Holy Bible

And the Lord, Jesus Christ Himself confirms the intent of God for His people in the Kingdom when He teaches:

Then the kingdom of heaven shall be compared to ten maidens who took their lamps and went to meet the bridegroom…

~ Gospel of Matthew, 25:1, RSV Holy Bible

But this is not a human marriage where new human life is procreated from the carnal union of two.  I believe that this is a marriage consummated in the spiritual soul, wherein God works most effectively, a deification of sorts from which new, spiritual Light emerges, new in the sense that it is intimately mingled with our spiritual soul.  It is joyful.  It is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

