My Dream of the Lion of Judah

Then one of the elders said to me, “Weep not; lo, the Lion of the tribe of Judah, the Root of David, has conquered, so that he can open the scroll and its seven seals.” — The Book of Revelation, 5:5.

Paschal Lamb is Lion of Judah

The gentle Paschal Lamb is the Lion of Judah

I dreamed Saturday night, 31 October of that year, the night of the day that I took my comprehensive oral exam for my Master of Art (MA) degree in Theological Studies at Christendom College, that a large male lion approached me as I was walking with a friend.  I was afraid but stood my ground.

This lion then leapt up and hugged me affectionately.  I experienced peace and a knowledge of his love in this embrace.

Lion hugs Man

This dream reminded me of the Lion of Judah (our Lord, Jesus Christ) who, after many had lost hope, stood his ground and conquered and was found worthy to open the seven seals – against all odds – because with God, nothing will be impossible.

I, myself, in my unworthiness for this Degree, did not want to take the comprehensive written and oral exams, the successful completion of which was required for the award of the MA degree.  I feared failure.  I had considered forfeiting the Degree for certificates instead.  But, God gave me courage, and I chose to trust in God, and God has been my help and encouragement in the face of probable failure.  I passed!

We are all subject to tribulations and struggles.  We must trust in the Lord and persevere, even in fear of failure.

Thank You, Lord, for Your gracious help.  I called on You, and You heard my cry, and You helped me.  You saved me from destruction, and I am Yours, and You are mine forever.

Lord is Eucharist

I love You, and I praise You.  Amen.

4 responses to “My Dream of the Lion of Judah

  1. How “fear of failure” is such a tool of our enemy, for completing what God wants us to do. I encounter it often. I always think of David when he wanted God to go before him in war and he kept asking God, “Are you sure You are going to be there.” God said, “Listen for the sound in the mulberry bush, and when you hear it you will know I have gone before you.” How often do we forget to listen for the “sound of God” in our lives and not be afraid? Great post and God Bless, SR

  2. This was beautiful..I too had a dream of the lion and the tribe of Judah…But I never heard of it. So upon trying to understand it I found this .

Leave a Reply

